classifieds    contact    advertise    archives    download newspapers

Ferguson re-elected, Lozano on PISD board

May 11th, 2017 under Top Stories
Mayor John Ferguson

Mayor John Ferguson


PRESIDIO — Presidio Mayor John Ferguson won re-election Saturday in the City of Presidio general election. Council Member Isela Nuñez won re-election to the Presidio City Council.

First-time candidates Victor Hernandez and Samuel Carrasco will also join the council. Hernandez will serve a full two-year term, while Carrasco was elected to a one-year unexpired term.

In the Presidio Independent School District Board of Trustees election, incumbents Carlos Nieto, Velva Sanez and Alfredo Muñiz held onto their seats. Dr. Luis Lozano won election to the board as well.

Current School Board President Helio Franco lost his re-election bid, coming in sixth in total votes in the race for four open trustee seats.

The full results are as follows:

Presidio Mayor:

John Ferguson — 273
Dimitri Garcia — 159

Presidio City Council, two full-term seats:

Isela Nuñez — 294
Victor Hernandez — 233
Ruben Armendariz — 154

Presidio City Council, one unexpired term:

Samuel Carrasco — 224
Silverio Escontrias — 108
Elida Martinez — 90

Presidio ISD Board of Trustees (top four are winners):

Carlos Nieto — 378
Luis Lozano — 236
Alfredo Muñiz — 221
Velva Saenz — 211
Aureliano Ramirez — 207
Helio Franco — 199
Jose Armendariz — 194
Roberto Carlos Reyna — 169

Share |

Story filed under: Top Stories

about   advertise   archives   contact   download newspapers   home   subscribe