classifieds    contact    advertise    archives    download newspapers

Sul Ross students – one from Presidio – win 34 awards in TIPA competition

April 11th, 2013 under Arts » Education

ALPINE – Sul Ross State University’s student publications  – The Skyline student newspaper, The Brand yearbook, and The Sage literary magazine – and contributing students earned 34 awards at this year’s Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) conference, held April 4-6 in Fort Worth.

Awards included overall excellence citations for both The Skyline (second place) and The Sage (honorable mention).

Awards and scholarship winners were announced at ceremonies held at the Fort Worth Hilton on Saturday, April 6. More than 400 students attended workshops and on-site contests the two days previous.

Forty-three of the 66 schools representing TIPA attended this year’s conference.

Sul Ross student photographer/sports writer Peter Dindinger, El Paso, garnered eight individual awards: first place in sports news story, sports feature, and sports action photos; second in sports action and newspaper feature photo; third in photo story and sports feature photo; and honorable mention in feature photo.

Brenda Gallegos, Presidio, brought home five yearbook awards: second in title page and sports copy, and HM in feature/student life package and copy, and cover design.

Other winners included firsts in yearbook, single-subject page design and yearbook sports package, Leinora Alimboyoguen, Alpine, literature magazine short story, Rachel Lehman, Tahoka; newspaper, non-photo illustration, Emily Patterson, Midland; and newspaper sports page design, Kaitlyn Wood, San Antonio.

Others were second place in yearbook people spread/mugshots, Brooke Bankston, El Paso; and newspaper in-depth reporting, Angela Greenroy, Alpine.

Third place was awarded in literary magazine feature story to Elizabeth Ashley; newspaper information graphic to Jazmin Gonzalez, Penitas; literary magazine illustration to Mike Ortiz; newspaper feature story to Billy Overton, Fort Stockton; and newspaper ad design to Greenroy and Wood.

Honorable mentions went to literary magazine essay, Bowie Adams, Austin; literary magazine short story, Amber Kelly-Anderson; yearbook sports package, Alimboyoguen; yearbook academic photo, Thalia Aparicio, El Paso; newspaper non-photo illustration and editorial cartoon, Patterson; newspaper feature story, Gonzalez; and newspaper ad design, Greenroy and Wood.

Share |

Story filed under: Arts

about   advertise   archives   contact   download newspapers   home   subscribe